and Construction; Realty; Planning and Systems; and Technological Research and Development, together with the Directorate of Customer and Public Relations, the Financial Adviser, the Personnel Adviser and the Dominion Fire Commissioner – all reporting to the Deputy Minister.

Department of Regional Economic Expansion. This Department was established in 1969 (RSC 1970, c.R-4). Its function is to ensure that economic growth is dispersed widely enough across Canada to bring employment and earning opportunities in the slow-growth regions as close as possible to those in the other parts of the country, without interfering with a high over-all rate of national growth. The legislation authorizes the Department, in co-operation with provincial governments and other federal agencies, to prepare development plans and programs designed to meet the special needs of particular areas.

The Department has six major divisions, each under the control of an Assistant Deputy Minister: Planning, Incentives, Co-ordination and Liaison, and the Eastern, Central and Western Regions. A major program provides development incentives to industry, in the form of cash grants, to encourage new productive employment in designated regions where such employment has been scarce. In 23 special areas, the Department is taking special action to encourage economic development and social adjustment. The Department is also responsible for programs under the Agricultural and Rural Development Act (ARDA); the Fund for Rural Economic Development (FRED); and the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Act (PFRA) which is concerned with land-use adjustment, water development projects and the establishment of tree shelterbelts. An Atlantic Development Council advises the Minister on programs and policies for fostering economic development and social adjustment in the Atlantic region.

The Minister of Regional Economic Expansion reports to Parliament for the Cape Breton Development Corporation, the New Brunswick Multiplex Corporation and the Canadian Council on

Rural Development.

Department of the Secretary of State. The duties, powers and functions of the Secretary of State of Canada (SC 1966-67, c.25) extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction, not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: citizenship; elections; State ceremonial, the conduct of State correspondence and the custody of State records and documents; the encouragement of the literary, visual and performing arts, learning and cultural activities; and libraries, archives, historical resources, museums, galleries, theatres, films and broadcasting.

The responsibilities of the Department of the Secretary of State include those pertaining to the administration of the following branches: Citizenship; Citizenship Registration; Education Support; Bilingualism Development Programmes; Arts and Culture; State Protocol and Special Events; and Translation Bureau, A Minister of State is responsible for matters pertaining to multiculturalism.

The Secretary of State reports to Parliament for the Canadian Film Development Corporation, the National Arts Centre Corporation, the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, the National Museums of Canada, the Canada Council, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Company of Young Canadians and the Public Service Commission and acts as spokesman for the Office of the Representation Commissioner. In addition, the Secretary of State is responsible for the financial and administrative affairs of the Bilingual Districts Advisory Board.

Department of the Solicitor General. Before 1936, the Office of the Solicitor General was either a Cabinet post or a Ministerial post outside the Cabinet. From 1936 to 1945 the position did not exist, the duties of the Office being wholly absorbed by the Attorney General of Canada. The Solicitor General Act, 1945 re-established the Solicitor General as a Cabinet officer and provided that "the Solicitor General shall assist the Minister of Justice in the Counsel work of the Department of Justice, and shall be charged with such other duties as are at any time assigned to him by the Governor-in-Council". This legislation was repealed in 1966 when a new Department of the Solicitor General was created (RSC 1970, c.S-12); the Solicitor General of Canada became the Cabinet Minister with primary responsibility in the fields of correction and law enforcement. He is responsible for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Canadian Penitentiary Service and also reports to Parliament for the National Parole Board, which is an independent agency.

Department of Supply and Services. The Department of Supply and Services was established on April 1, 1969 (RSC 1970, c.S-18) and incorporates certain services previously provided by other departments, in line with the recommendations of the Royal Commission on Government Organization (Glassco Commission) which had stressed the need for the federal government to foster efficiency and effect economies wherever possible. The Minister of Supply and Services is also the Receiver General for Canada and exercises all the duties, powers and functions assigned to that office by law.

The Department is organized into two major administrations, each headed by a Deputy Minister directly responsible to the Minister. The Supply Administration administers the Supply Programme, the objective of which is to acquire and provide, at minimum cost, goods and services required by federal government departments and agencies. It also maintains federal government equipment and provides printing facilities. The Supply Administration has 13 regional or district supply offices across Canada; at various locations within these areas it provides purchasing and warehousing services and other services